Mumford and Sons

Like geeks of any passion, runners have their own lingo. One of the most interesting words in the runner’s vocabulary is fartlek. Fartlek is the Swedish word for speedplay. While this is supposed to be play, many runners turn this form of running into a rather regimented practice with specific amounts of time for a mix of slower and faster runs.

I try and make it real play.

I don’t look at my watch, instead I allow the music to dictate my pace. When the music is slow, I run slow, when it speed up, I match the beat.

One of the best bands to do this with is my new favorite band, Mumford and Sons. Listen to the video and imagine your feet keeping pace with these great musicians.

Leave a Reply

