Some days you got it…

…and then there are days like today.

The view from up here was magnificient, but by this time I was ready to go home.

The view from up here was magnificient, but by this time I was ready to go home.

Combine a week of not sleeping well (even by my poor standards), several days in a row of eating junk, having sore legs from doing P90X on Saturday night, and steep, rocky trails at high elevations (I climbed from 6,000 to 10,000 feet). That is a recipe for a bad run. That recipe tastes as bad as the time when I tried to substitute nutmeg for cinnamon in a waffle recipe. Trust me, it doesn’t work.

A fender at 10,000 feet, far from any paved road. Any ideas?

A fender at 10,000 feet, far from any paved road. Any ideas?

Seven miles into my run today I was finished. My legs were spent. My body was tired and not working well. The only problem is that I was on top of a mountain at 10,000 feet. No matter which direction I went, it would take another 7 miles to get off the mountain. I tried to think of someone with a helicopter who could rescue me. I wondered why we never got those flying cars we were told about as kids. Unable to come up with a rescue plan, I had to simply take a deep breath, turn up the volume on the mp3 player, and finish the journey.

 

It wasn’t fast, it wasn’t pretty, but some days are just like that.

2 thoughts on “Some days you got it…

  1. iam5foot5

    That’s pretty good, I wouldn’t venture to do this without a full nights sleep. Well, it still sounds like a great run.
    I like the helicopter idea… but at least the way back was down hill. 🙂
    I really like the blog.
    -Jen-

    Reply

Leave a Reply

