You can’t get there from here

If Albuquerque ever needs a motto, I would suggest “You can’t get there from here”.

When we first moved to Albuquerque, I could frequently point to the places I wanted to go, but just couldn’t drive from where I was to where I wanted to be. Over the last three years, I have learned how to navigate the elusive streets of Albuquerque. However, today I found myself saying once again, I can’t get there from here.

Before heading out on an 18 mile run on a cold, windy morning, I mapped out my journey. From the satellite view, I could see a trail that wound through the Rio Grande Open Space area and connected with a road to home. At first, all went well. My legs turned over quickly on soft trails as Tom Waits and Flaming Lips serenaded me. My mile splits were consistently even, this was one of the best runs of my life.

That was until the hated “no trespassing” sign halted me. Not only did the sign from the Sandia Pueblo say “No trespassing,” but also said “Violators will be prosecuted” with the word prosecuted strongly underlined. I could see the trail continuing in front of me, but I had no idea how strict they acted on those prosecutions. With an empty water bottle in hand, I thought about risking it and claiming dehydration as my defense. However, that underlined word made me think it wouldn’t be worth the hassle.

I have to admit, that I had no idea how close I was to where I wanted to be. After downloading my run, I discovered I was only one third of a mile from connecting to the road for home. Instead, I had to run two miles back from where I came and reroute my path home.

A third of a mile, Albuquerque? Really? You really can’t get there from here.

Image

Leave a Reply

