Busted by the running police

Apparently, doing a 20 mile run in 400-mile old trail shoes is a bad idea.

At mile 16, it felt like someone kicked me in my achiles. I haven’t been the same since.

Yesterday I was spinning my tail of woe at my favorite store on the planet, Athletes Edge. As the owner, Susan was teaching me about kinesio taping, her sister Laurinda entered the conversation.

“I saw you running on Wyoming today with those old trail shoes.”

“Yes,” I replied hesitantly.

“How many miles do you have on those?” She asked.

“About 400.” I said.

And the running store erupted with shouts of “No wonder!”

So, this week I am resting with my foot in an ice bath instead of running in the Albuquerque Half Marathon.

The moral of the story: always listen to the people at the running store and take care of your feet!

 

Leave a Reply

