The Scream Heard Around Albuquerque

If you live near Albuquerque, and wondered what that scream was that echoed across the city around 12:15 this afternoon, it was me standing on a scale at the YMCA.

I started this year with such high fitness ideals. My ankle was healing and body was rested. I dreamt of a spring half marathon and marathon. I debated about whether I should run a 50K or 50mile race in the fall. My fitness was going to reach a whole new level.

Internally, that desire never went away. I have the drive, motivation, and passion of a 25 year old; unforunately, I have the body of a 44 year old.

In April I reinjured the ankle I thought had healed from the Septemeber sprain. Out of the last eight months, only three of them have included good, quality running. As my exercise level has fallen, so has my diet. My enjoyment of running has been replaced with my enjoyment of the cocoa bean.

Dedicated to get back in shape, today was day 1 of training for the Los Alamos Triathlon on August 18th. After a 200 yard swim and half hour run, I was feeling pretty good about myself.

Then I stood on the scale. The digital numbers glared at me: 188. 188!?! That is 20 pounds heavier than this time last year. That is more than I have weighed in four years. I knew things were bad, but had no idea it was this bad. A scream echoed across Albuquerque, followed by the silence of a renewed dedication to get back in shape.

Leave a Reply

