Goodbye, Sparky!

Four years ago, today, I received one of my greatest birthday presents ever, Sparky, my Garmin 405.

Over the last four years Sparky and I ran nearly 3,500 miles together. We ran the Grand Canyon, the beaches of Cape Cod, the hills of California, the mountains of New Mexico–multiple 5Ks, 10Ks, half marathons, maratons, and even an ultra.

Today I went to the local watch repair store to try and get the band fixed that I had been unable to repair. After taking Sparky into the infamous “back of the store”, the jewler emerged and spoke one word to me: morte.

The pieces of the watch face that attach to the band are broken. There is no way to attach another band. Sparky has run his last mile.

Sparky, thanks for all the miles and sharing the trails with me.

Sparky

Sparky

Leave a Reply

