My own…. personal… 10K

Top of the Eubank DamIt is hard to believe that it has been almost two months since I’ve posted to this blog. The words of the last poem seem recent and distant. Over the last two months, with the support of so many loving and praying for me, I have learned the meaning of healing and hope.

In the early part of July I began taking walks. About a month ago I started to jog a little in the middle of a walk. Gradually, running began to overtake walking. On my birthday, August 13th, I ran 5K. Today, I ran/walked 10K. I walked the first mile today as a warm-up, walked in between songs, and walked to cool down. However, I probably ran about four to four and half miles of the 10K.

The run began with Bono singing, “If I could through myself set your spirit fgoughree,” and ended with Mumford observing, “In these bodies we will live, in these bodies we will die, Where you invest your love, you invest your life.”

This run mostly took place on open space and flood control trails and included a view of Albuquerque from the top of the Eubank Dam.

I ran over the place of the accident with determination.

I ran, once again, simply because I can.

One thought on “My own…. personal… 10K

  1. Lissie

    I am so in awe of you and all u have achieved – I hope these successes help with your spirit too! Always in my thoughts and prayers.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

